How did I get to do so much travel and love it so much?

To answer that question you may want to know a little more about me.

I was born in Ashfield, educated at Fort Street Boys High School, Balmain Teachers’ College and Sydney University. I taught for over 37 years, the first eight of them in primary schools. In the secondary school system I was a Head Teacher (Social Sciences) a Deputy Principal and Principal, having retired in that position from Northmead High School. I also had some brief experience as an Inspector of Schools.

I have spent over 30 years writing Geography textbooks, and with a long term interest in photography, took many photos which were used in the books. The books all sold well and one edition received an Award for |Excellence in Educational Publishing.

My first overseas experience was in an exchange teaching position in England for twelve months in 1972. With my wife Nancy, we took our two young children there and enrolled them in local schools.  On the way we stopped over in Singapore and we will always remember the sights and smells, the food and  the culture of that city.  We have been back there several times since and have appreciated the changes. Our twelve months in England were very rewarding travel-wise, having purchased a motor caravan and charging all over the United Kingdom and on the Continent.

Many other overseas trips followed to all parts of the globe.  One exception is Antarctica as we deemed it too expensive and too cold.  We are still travelling and still taking photographs and videos of our experiences.  This year, in June  we will be in the south of France, in particular in the area of Languedoc, around Carcassonne.  Then it will be to Spain and Portugal.